About Us

The Animal Welfare Board of India is a statutory advisory body on Animal Welfare Laws and promotes animal welfare in the country. Established in 1962 under Section 4 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960 (No. 59 of 1960), functioning under the aegis of the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC). The mandate of the Board is to promote animal welfare generally and for the purpose of protecting animals from being subjected to unnecessary pain or suffering, in particular. The Animal Welfare Board of India was started under the stewardship of Late Smt. Rukmini Devi Arundale, well known humanitarian. The Board has been the face of the animal welfare movement in the country for the last 57 years.

The Board consists of 28 Members. The term of the Board is for a period of 3 years.

The Board advises the Central Govt., States and UTs' on the issues related to animal welfare. The Board is continuously working for strengthening the legislative framework and best practices to prevent the unnecessary pain or suffering to animals.

The AWBI recognizes animal welfare organizations (AWOs)/societies and provides grants-in-aid under various Central schemes. It grants pre-shoot permission (PSP) and issue certificate to films/Ad-films/TV serials/documentaryunder Performing Animal (Registration) Rules 2001.

In the last over five decades, the Board has played key role tosensitizing the citizens regarding animal welfare. It has educated people about sentience of animals through its publications and activities.

The Five Freedoms outline five aspects of animal welfare and they are:

  • Freedom from hunger or thirst
  • Freedom from discomfort
  • Freedom from pain, injury or disease
  • Freedom to express (most) normal behavior
  • Freedom from fear and distress